Duplicate Leave Requests
By default, each leave request row in your upload file is validated separately. If you have multiple leave request lines with the same employee, leave type, start date, and end date, only the first line will be processed and the subsequent duplicate lines will be marked as errors. For example, if your file has the following lines, only the first leave request of each type will be uploaded:Sum Duplicate Totals
To allow duplicates, select Settings from the menu, then under Leave enable the option Sum duplicate totals. When enabled, UpSheets adds up the hours for all duplicate leave requests with the same employee, leave type, start date, and end date, and uploads a single leave request to Xero with the combined total hours. You will receive an informational message during validation to indicate the totals will be summarised. You can turn this feature on and off at any time by updating your settings. For example, if your file has the following lines:
They will be uploaded as follows:
Note: All duplicate lines in your file will be marked as uploaded and included in your billing, even though only a single combined leave request is created in Xero.
Leave Already in Xero
If a leave request in your file has the same employee, leave type, start date, and end date as leave already in Xero, UpSheets marks that row as an error and blocks the upload for that line.Overlapping Leave Dates
UpSheets also checks for leave date ranges that overlap but are not an exact match (same employee and leave type, different start or end dates). When an overlap is found:- Against leave already in Xero, or
- Against another leave row earlier in the same file
